A Lovely Surprise #SOL22 Day 29

Brrngg. Brrnggg. My office phone rarely rings. 

Hello.?
Hi, Jill. There is a surprise for you in the office.

I don’t particularly like surprises. I like to be in control and know what’s going to happen. And more than just know what’s going to happen, I like to be the one deciding what’s going to happen. So when someone has a surprise for me, my heart starts to beat a little faster, and not in a good way.

Hmmm. Is it a surprise I want?
Yes, I'm pretty sure you will.
I've experienced your "surprises" before...are you sure?
YES, I'm sure!

I hesitantly head to the office. Upon arrival I see an old, familiar face donning her bouquet of daffodils. Mrs. R, my own children’s preschool teacher, stood there with a big smile on her face. We spent a few minutes catching up. She asked about Gretchen and Luke and wanted to know all about their current endeavors in college.

A few more teachers came in that also had a preschool connection with Mrs. R. One of them was a former “Little Seed” and is now a 1st grade teacher. It was such a sweet exchange between preschool teacher who impacted a young, new teacher.

There are special people in your life who stand out to you as possibly the kindness people you know. Mrs. R is one of those people. She never misses a graduation. She sends cards to my kids with a $5 bill to go enjoy an ice cream treat. She delivers daffodils from her yard on a random Monday. I am so thankful that this kind person influenced my kids when they were 4 and 5…and still influences them and me today!

3 thoughts on “A Lovely Surprise #SOL22 Day 29

Leave a comment