9 Weeks #SOL22 Day 5

I unlocked my home screen, 0*2**, clicked on the calendar app, scrolled down to January 2nd, and begin to count the weeks. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9. I can’t believe it’s been 9 weeks since I’ve seen my daughter, Gretchen. She is a senior at Indiana University and student teaching 1st grade in Chicago Public Schools. I’m not sure we’ve ever gone more than two, maybe three weeks without seeing each other. Today, we are driving up to Chicago for a quick weekend trip to catch up with her. I was giddy with excitement last night!

Our agenda might include..

  • walking to lunch in G’s neighborhood
  • visiting a library or bookstore
  • checking out the Chicago History Museum
  • wandering in the city
  • shopping in some unique boutiques
  • sipping cocktails together
  • seeking out a cool eatery for dinner
  • taking a yoga class
  • finding a new breakfast joint

But the best part will be…

  • giving her a big hug
  • hearing about her 6 year old learners
  • sharing about our last few months apart
  • talking about upcoming events
  • organizing her tests/job applications
  • planning for graduation
  • discussing a fun summer trip
  • dreaming of her future

It’s going to be a great weekend!

This is my third year to participate in the Slice of Life Challenge. 31 days of writing about small moments in life. Thank you to the Two Writing Teachers for hosting this challenge.

12 thoughts on “9 Weeks #SOL22 Day 5

  1. Jill that sounds absolutely lovely. It sounds like you are going to really enjoy the time with your daughter. Since my son is in Grade 1, I would love to hear her stories of the learners she gets to work with.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The way you wrote about your anticipation of the weekend got me feeling giddy! I hope you and your daughter get to engage in rich teacher talk, and that those sweet hugs fill your bucket.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a special weekend! I have a feeling there will be an ample supply of slices coming from this weekend, too! It’s a great feeling to share that mother/teacher bond! Mine is in year seven! Wow!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The short, quick structure you create through the use 0f bullets in this slice adds to the sense of excitement. I could feel it–you’re so “giddy” that your thoughts come in quick phrases rather than long, detailed sentences. I hope you have an amazing weekend together!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment