Accessibility for All

I’m not a Netflix binge type of person. In fact, I have only recently started watching a few shows. Schitt’s Creek has gotten so much hype, I felt like I was missing out if I didn’t at least try to watch it. I have found the 20 minute episodes are the perfect distraction during my elliptical workout. And when Firefly Lane, a book by Kristin Hannah, was released, I knew I would tune in. In fact, my husband and I are six episodes in and so tempted to binge the last 3 on our snow day today, but we have a strict policy of only one episode at a time.

As I began watching these shows, closed captioning popped up on the screen. My daughter is in charge of the account, so she must have activated that in the settings. It has helped me tremendously! One reason I don’t enjoy watching TV or movies is I have difficulty discerning what the characters are saying. The music/sound parts are loud and the voices tend to be jumbled or too soft. Closed captioning has greatly increased not just my enjoyment in watching these shows, but my understanding of the plot.

In preparing sign ups for a family book club at school this month, I received a note from a parent (who is deaf) requesting closed captioning for our meetings. It got me thinking, why isn’t this just standard practice? Closed captioning helps all…not just the hearing impaired. Our district practices Universal Design for Learning, so I am accustomed to creating lesson plans that allow all learners to access the content and provide them with multiple means to express their learning. Netflix and this request from a parent have caused me to broaden to my thinking on accessibility. How can I level the playing field for all? Create book access, parent communication, teacher professional development that allows for multiple entry points? I never imagined that Netflix would stretch my thinking in a such good way.

5 thoughts on “Accessibility for All

  1. My son has Retinitis Pigmentosa but recently he has been enjoying some shows and movies in Netflix because they are audio described. A few years ago the audio description was not good. But he says they are very good now. He knows what is happening when the characters speak. But there is so much that is nonverbal. Audi descriptions help the blind and visually impaired persons to enjoy the movies better.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I relate to this so much – very well put! I had the same experience – my reading comprehension is so much better than my listening comprehension that I feel like only now do I understand how TV and movies were “supposed” to be enjoyed all along! With the transition to virtual (distance) learning I have been discovering these accessibility elements all over the place: alternate text for images on websites/social media; text formatting to allow for easy machine translation; can’t wait to discover more!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment