Liquid Sunshine #SOL23 Day 9

The best pressed juice from our local shop, The Nifty Beet

I entered my office after administering a session of IREAD to a small group of 3rd graders and there it sat on my desk. Liquid Sunshine. Although the name might be figurative, it brings literal sunshine to my being.

I inquired of my office mate, “Who brought me this wonderful surprise?” She was vowed to secrecy, but she did reply, “It’s not from the same person who left it the last time.” This was not my first drop off of this magic juice. The last time I received it, our traveling librarian, who was aware of a rough patch I was in, dropped it off to lift my spirits.

I gave the bottle a little shake, twisted the lid off, and took my first sip. This juice is so fresh. It tastes like the fruit was just picked off the tree this morning. The sweetness of the fruit is balanced with the spicy ginger finish. A little tartness adds to the perfect combination of the liquids. It’s tempting to chug the entire bottle in one sitting, but I resisted. I savored it as I caught up on some emails. Each nip bringing me another ray of sunshine.

I am participating in the Slice of Life month long writing challenge hosted by Two Writing Teachers.

8 thoughts on “Liquid Sunshine #SOL23 Day 9

  1. It’s a gift to work with colleagues/friends that are so thoughtful and kind. This is a true slice in every sense, a small moment that gets smaller as you describe each sip. It would be a great mentor text! The quote on the bottle, “Moderation is the only rule in a healthful life” , reminds me of what my Nonna always said about life in general, “everything in moderation” — words to live by!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a wonderful colleague and surprise. Morale at my school isn’t great right now. Maybe I need to leave some other type of sunshine for some of my colleagues. Now you’ve got me thinking. 🤔

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment