Bless Family Chili Recipe #SOL23 Day 3

When you are a part of a family of football players and coaches, you must have a stellar chili recipe. My mother-in-law has perfected hers and passed it along to her 3 football loving sons (and their wives). We call this the Bless Family Chili recipe, and it has not been shared with many others, so consider yourself lucky! In my first photo essay Friday, here is our beloved family recipe!

Gather your ingredients. Brown 2 pounds of hamburger. One pound is never enough. You will want leftovers! Add a dash of salt and pepper and a bit of sugar (about 1 T).
Add minced onions (fresh or dried). I usually do 2ish T of dried, 2 cans of tomato soup (must be Campbell’s, generic will not do!), and 2 packets of Brooks chili seasoning (again, generic chili season will not produce same results–trust me, I’ve tried it!)
And here is the secret step! Blend 2 cans of Brooks chili beans. You will get the bean flavor without the bean texture. I often use hot beans and original chili seasoning packet (or the other way around). Just enough hot to get it a little spicy.
Time to boil 2 cups of macaroni and let the hamburger mixture and beans simmer.
Once the macaroni is cooked, drain it and combine the hamburger mixture with the macaroni. Add V8 juice to thin it to your desired consistency. I also add V8 when reheating the leftovers, which are equally as yummy!
Add your favorite toppings (We like Fritos on the bottom, then chili, sour cream, cheese, green onion, soup crackers). Enjoy the best bowl of chili in your life!
I am participating in the Slice of Life month long writing challenge hosted by Two Writing Teachers.

8 thoughts on “Bless Family Chili Recipe #SOL23 Day 3

  1. Great idea for a post. I’m always looking for new chili recipes. They vary so by region. I have a recipe for “Frito Pie” which is basically chili served on Fritos! Your recipe brought that one to mind. I love the peek into the Bless Family you shared.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Yesterday I read a Susan Kennedy’s slice on Peanut Butter and Jelly and of course had one today (that worked out as I am meatless on Fridays during Lent). Now today I’ve got your slice as inspiration for a new chili recipe. I’m not sure I’ve every seen the Brooks brand in our stores but rest assured, I’ll be looking this weekend! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment