All the Little Things #SOL22 Day 12

Siri, play Nashville by the Indigo Girls.

I looked up from my book, Strangers in the Boat by Mitch Album to see the city ahead. The sun setting behind Nissan Stadium. The batman looking AT & T building towering over the city. My husband was driving; he always drives the first leg of the trip and gets us south of Nashville. Yearly, we take off as close to 3:00 pm as we can on the Friday of Spring Break and head south for a week at the beach.

I turned my book face down, and took in the city.

As I drive
From your pearly gates
I realize that I just can't stay
All those mountains
They kept you locked inside
And hid the truth
From my slighted eyes

We belted out the words as the lanes of cars sped along the highway.

I came to you with a half-open heart
Dreams upon my back
Illusions of a brand new start
Nashville
Can't I carry the load
Is it my fault that
I can't reap what I sow
Nashville
Did you give me half a chance
With your southern style
And your hidden dance away
You dance away
And you dance away

The fact that my husband spontaneously played this song as we passed through Nashville says everything. He knows all the little things that make me happy. How much cream to put in my coffee, what Tshirts I wear to bed, which blanket I want to wrap up in, what songs to cue at just the right moment.

That’s what 27 years of being best friends does. You know all the little things…

This is my third year to participate in the Slice of Life Challenge. 31 days of writing about small moments in life. Thank you to the Two Writing Teachers for hosting this challenge

2 thoughts on “All the Little Things #SOL22 Day 12

Leave a comment